Home Productions Waley-Cohen & Watkins

Waley-Cohen & Watkins

Music for violin and piano by Oliver Knussen and sonatas by Schubert, Janáček, Ravel and Huw Watkins.

Thursday 15 June, 11am

From £5.00 to £18.00

Part of the Aldeburgh Festival season

New compositions by Oliver Knussen are rare and wonderful things, and this recital is itself a reflection on Knussen’s two most recent chamber works – Reflection (2016) and Ophelia’s Last Dance (2010). Knussen himself suggested the inclusion of sonatas by Schubert, Janáček and Ravel, while Watkins’ Sarabande serves as a friendly salute from one artist to another.


Schubert Violin Sonata in A major D574 22’
Oliver Knussen Ophelia’s Last Dance 10’; Reflection 12’
Janáček Violin Sonata 22’
Huw Watkins Sarabande 5’
Ravel Violin Sonata 17’


Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Huw Watkins piano

Related concerts