Home Productions The Sixteen

The Sixteen

Music from the Sistine Chapel including Allegri’s Miserere

Tuesday 22 August

From £6.50 to £30.00

Snape Maltings Concert Hall

Part of the Snape Proms season

Tuesday 22 August 2017 - 7.30pm
Sold Out

Harry Christophers conductor

Plainsong Decora Lux Aeternitatis Auream
Allegri Kyrie (Missa Che Fa Oggi Il Mio Sole)
Palestrina Gloria (Missa Papae Marcelli)
Allegri Miserere
Anerio Magnificat a 8

Marenzio Che Fa Oggi Il Mio Sole
Allegri Sanctus And Benedictus (Missa Che Fa Oggi Il Mio Sole)
Anerio Ave Regina Caelorum a 8; Stabat Mater A 12
Allegri Christus Resurgens Ex Mortuis
Plainsong Assumpta Est Maria (Antiphon For 2nd Vespers)
Palestrina Assumpta Est Maria

Allegri’s Miserere has echoed down the ages as a high point of Renaissance sacred choral music. The Sixteen, one of the most popular choirs of our day, bring a new version of this iconic work and build round it a sequence of other music and composers from the Papal court that have remained too long in its shadow. It includes other settings by Allegri himself, the gloriously rich setting of the Stabat Mater by Felice Anerio and the sumptuous sound world of the most celebrated Italian renaissance composer, Giovanni Palestrina.