Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Monday 10 Jun 2019 7:30pm

Part of Aldeburgh Festival

For concerts that are sold out, we can let you know if tickets become available via WhatsApp

Debussy Elegie 2′; Les soirs illuminés par l’ardeur du charbon 2′
Webern Variations Op.27 6’
Quaderno musicale di Annalibera 15’
Knussen Variations for piano 7’
Charlotte Bray Bring Me All Your Dreams (Aldeburgh Festival commission, world premiere) 6’
Carter 90+ 5’; Two Diversions 8’
George Benjamin
Shadowlines 15’
Ravel from Miroirs: Oiseaux tristes; Noctuelles; La vallée des cloches 18’

Pierre-Laurent Aimard plays an affectionate tribute to Oliver Knussen in a sequence of music by their friends and musical collaborators and composers close to both their hearts. Both men have done so much to champion the glittering modernism of Elliott Carter, and George Benjamin’s elegant distilled miniatures – written for Aimard – seem a perfect complement and appropriately there is a new work by Charlotte Bray who studied with Knussen here in Snape.

At the programme’s heart are Knussen’s own ingeniously constructed Variations, jewels from the workbench of a master-craftsman. Richly perfumed music from Debussy’s final years and the pianistic brilliance of Ravel frame the programme, tracing an arc from Debussy’s tender elegy to the endlessly gently tolling bells of Ravel’s sonorous, spacious tone poem for piano.

Generously supported by the Michael Guest Charitable Foundation.