Updated 03/07/2020: From Friday 3 July, some of our shops are open, with safety measures in place and slightly shorter opening hours. The Concert Hall Café will also be open from Saturday 4 July. Our concert venues and other shops, cafes and galleries remain closed (more info). Please consider supporting the charitable work of Britten Pears Arts with a donation

CANCELLED: Mozart and Tavener

Thursday 18 June 3pm (ends approx. 4.40pm, no interval)

In the light of the ongoing Coronavirus situation, it is with enormous sadness that we have to cancel the 2020 Aldeburgh Festival.

In these difficult times, our critical focus remains maintaining our vital work supporting artists and communities, and we rely on ticket sales and philanthropy to deliver the majority of this wide-ranging activity. We are living in uncertain times, but we know that music and the arts has the power to make positive change in people’s lives. When we emerge from this lockdown period, this mission will be more important than ever.

If you can, we’d be enormously grateful if you would make a donation to our vital work, which makes a deeply positive impact on thousands of lives every year. Together, we can combat the lasting impact of this virus by bringing the joy of music into people’s lives once again.

All of us at Snape Maltings thank you for your generous support during this uncertain time and wish you and those closest to you strength for the days to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Snape again soon.

Enter your own amount:

Amount you are donating: £

Insert success content/markup here
Insert failure content/markup here

Four string quartets sharing a stage is a spectacle for both eyes and ears.

The programme opens with nineteenth-century Dutch composer Johannes van Bree’s humorous Allegro for four quartets, which sees melodies race from one end of the stage to the other and back, before the Heath Quartet take centre stage to perform Mozart’s Quartet in C major.

John Tavener’s tribute to his musical hero takes the form of a theatrical oboe concerto, with music scattered around fragments of Mozart melodies. Standing centre stage with four string quartets placed at the points of the compass around him, Nicholas Daniel is at the heart of a work originally written for him.

‘[Mozart’s] music contains a rapturous beauty and a childlike wonder that can only be compared to Hindu and Persian miniatures or Coptic ikons.’ John Tavener

Nicholas Daniel oboe
Heath Quartet
Bozzini Quartet
Eusebius Quartet
Ruisi Quartet
Adam Wynter, Owen Nicolaou double bass
Patrick Nolan percussion

van Bree Allegro for four quartets 10’
Mozart Quartet in C major ‘Dissonance’ 31′
Tavener Kaleidoscopes 30’