I understand

Mitsuko Uchida

Sun 22 Oct 5pm

From £6.50 to £30.00

Snape Maltings Concert Hall

Part of Autumn 2017

Sunday 22 October 2017 - 5.00pm

Mitsuko Uchida piano

Schubert Piano Sonata in B, D.575 27’; Piano Sonata in A minor, D.845 38’; Piano Sonata in D, D.850 39’

No living pianist throws a more thought-provoking light upon Schubert’s music – or approaches it with more love. These three sonatas of 1817–25, chosen by Uchida to span the high peak of Schubert’s all-too-short creative maturity, offer infinite riches of tragedy, melody and humour.

‘The recital unfolded like a vast epic... intensely coloured, fiercely dramatic, generously expressive’

The Guardian on an Uchida Schubert recital