London Philharmonic Orchestra

Sun 11 July, 7pm

Part of Summer at Snape

Mendelssohn, a UK premiere by Freya Waley-Cohen, and the world premiere of Robin Holloway's arrangement of Britten's Winter Words.

In our series of new versions of works by Britten, Nicky Spence joins the LPO and Edward Gardner to give the world premiere of Robin Holloway’s orchestral arrangement of his favourite Britten song cycle, Winter Words.

The concert also features Mendelssohn’s radiant and uplifting fifth symphony and a piece by Freya Waley-Cohen which explores ‘how we can remake the world anew through retelling the myths that tell us how to be’.




Nicky Spence tenor
ondon Philharmonic Orchestra
Edward Gardner conductor 

Freya Waley-Cohen Changeling (10’)
Britten arr. Holloway Winter Words (world premiere, 19’)
Mendelssohn Symphony No.5 ‘Reformation’ (27’) 

Concert length: approx. 65 minutes, with no interval


Tickets for these concerts go on sale at 10am on Saturday 15 May. 


Your safety and that of our artists and staff is our top priority and so some things will be different to what you’re used to. Key changes are:

  • Reduced capacity in the Concert Hall, with socially distant seating.
  • Shorter performances with no interval.
  • Audience members will need to wear face-coverings (unless they are exempt as per the Government’s guidelines).
  • No printed material – no tickets, programmes, or programme notes.
  • Clear signs and helpful staff to make your visit straightforward.
  • Regular and thorough cleaning, with hand sanitiser for you.

Read the full Covid-safe concert information