Some of our shops are open and cafés are open, with safety measures in place and slightly shorter opening hours. Our concert venues and other shops, cafes and galleries remain closed (more info). Please consider supporting the charitable work of Britten Pears Arts with a donation

CANCELLED: Julia Bullock and Friends

Thursday 25 June 2pm (ends approx. 3.30 pm, no interval)

In the light of the ongoing Coronavirus situation, it is with enormous sadness that we have to cancel the 2020 Aldeburgh Festival.

In these difficult times, our critical focus remains maintaining our vital work supporting artists and communities, and we rely on ticket sales and philanthropy to deliver the majority of this wide-ranging activity. We are living in uncertain times, but we know that music and the arts has the power to make positive change in people’s lives. When we emerge from this lockdown period, this mission will be more important than ever.

If you can, we’d be enormously grateful if you would make a donation to our vital work, which makes a deeply positive impact on thousands of lives every year. Together, we can combat the lasting impact of this virus by bringing the joy of music into people’s lives once again.

All of us at Snape Maltings thank you for your generous support during this uncertain time and wish you and those closest to you strength for the days to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Snape again soon.

Enter your own amount:

Amount you are donating: £

Insert success content/markup here
Insert failure content/markup here

It also includes vocal and instrumental music by Carter and Foss alongside their American contemporary Copland. Carter was a great admirer of TS Eliot’s writing and Three Explorations continues the festival’s celebration of his Four Quartets.

Lukas Foss was inspired by Wallace Stevens’s groundbreaking sequence of poems. The thirteen brief movements combine soaring phrases with hushed whispering, while the flute conveys the many manifestations of the blackbird.

Julia Bullock soprano
Evan Hughes baritone
Knussen Chamber Orchestra
Bretton Brown piano
Ryan Wigglesworth conductor

Cage She is Asleep 8’
Carter Rigmarole 2’
Esprit Rude
Esprit Doux I & II 9’
Copland Duo 14’
Carter Three Explorations 10’ (European premiere)
Foss 13 Ways of Looking at a Blackbird 16’
Curriculum Vitae with time bomb 11’
Cage She is Asleep 8’