Updated 03/07/2020: From Friday 3 July, some of our shops are open, with safety measures in place and slightly shorter opening hours. The Concert Hall Café will also be open from Saturday 4 July. Our concert venues and other shops, cafes and galleries remain closed (more info). Please consider supporting the charitable work of Britten Pears Arts with a donation

CANCELLED: Hagen Quartet

Saturday 27 June 7.30pm (ends approx. 9.15pm)

In the light of the ongoing Coronavirus situation, it is with enormous sadness that we have to cancel the 2020 Aldeburgh Festival.

In these difficult times, our critical focus remains maintaining our vital work supporting artists and communities, and we rely on ticket sales and philanthropy to deliver the majority of this wide-ranging activity. We are living in uncertain times, but we know that music and the arts has the power to make positive change in people’s lives. When we emerge from this lockdown period, this mission will be more important than ever.

If you can, we’d be enormously grateful if you would make a donation to our vital work, which makes a deeply positive impact on thousands of lives every year. Together, we can combat the lasting impact of this virus by bringing the joy of music into people’s lives once again.

All of us at Snape Maltings thank you for your generous support during this uncertain time and wish you and those closest to you strength for the days to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Snape again soon.

Enter your own amount:

Amount you are donating: £

Insert success content/markup here
Insert failure content/markup here

There is very little fuss or showiness to the Salzburg-based Hagen Quartet, but they are widely acknowledged as one of the world’s best, bringing what they describe as an ‘old-fashioned craftsmanship’ to their performances.

Here they bring a brief immersion into the worldwide Beethoven 250 celebrations, playing two quartets which richly illustrate why even a composer of Schubert’s brilliance would remark, on experiencing Beethoven’s Op.131: ‘After this, what is left for us to write?’

Beethoven Quartet in E minor Op.59 No. 2 ‘Razumovsky’ 35’
Quartet in C sharp minor Op.131 40’