Doric Quartet & Friends

Monday 22 June 7.30pm (ends approx. 9.40pm)

From £5.00 to £30.00

Snape Maltings Concert Hall

Part of Aldeburgh Festival

Monday 22 June 2020 - 7.30pm

Chausson’s strikingly unusual chamber music ‘concerto’ pits a violin-piano duo against a string quartet in a work that refracts the gracefulness and melodic charm of the Baroque through the lens of his French contemporaries.

It is preceded here by César Franck’s violin sonata, one of the most revered of its genre. Between the two, the youthful ebullience of the 18-year-old Mendelssohn provides a perfect foil.

Booking opens on Tuesday 18 February at 10am
To champion our work and to enjoy priority booking, please consider becoming a supporter of Snape Maltings.

Festival First-Timers
Have you never been to one of our concerts before? We are offering new bookers £10 tickets to try Aldeburgh Festival for the first time. Find out how to claim.

Alina Ibragimova violin
Cédric Tiberghien piano
Doric Quartet

Franck Sonata for violin and piano 28’
Mendelssohn Quartet No 2 in A minor Op 13 30’
Chausson Concerto for string quartet, piano and violin 42’

Main image by Benjamin Ealovega

Venue Address:

Snape Maltings Concert Hall
Snape Maltings, Snape, Suffolk, IP17 1SP