Chiaroscuro Quartet

Saturday 19 Aug 2017 7:30pm

Bach The Art of Fugue (excerpts) 12’
Haydn String Quartet Op.76, No.6 21’
Schubert String Quartet Death and the Maiden 36’

Two great string quartets and transcriptions of Bach are performed by Alina Ibragimova’s period-instrument ensemble. The restless energy and dark undercurrents of Schubert’s famous work sit alongside Haydn’s spritely effervescence and the translucent intricacy of Bach’s fugues. The Chiaroscuro Quartet plays with vitality and stylish refinement, revelling in clean lines and rhythmic dynamism in deeply thoughtful, refined interpretations of the classical repertoire. Their elegant unfussy approach draws us closer and reveals fresh details in the most familiar music.