Sunday 23 Jun 2019 3pm

Part of Aldeburgh Festival

For concerts that are sold out, we can let you know if tickets become available via WhatsApp

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner conductor
Stephen Hough piano
Alisa Weilerstein cello

Tippett Concerto for Double String Orchestra 23’
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.4 34’
Thomas Larcher Ouroboros for cello and orchestra 20’
Bartók Suite: The Miraculous Mandarin 20’

With a blockbuster programme containing enough memorable music for several concerts, Edward Gardner and the CBSO present four substantial orchestral works, each enveloping the listener in its own compelling sound-world.

Tippett and Bartók shared a fascination with complex rhythms yet chose very different paths: Bartók’s Mandarin is seduced and murdered to a pounding, off-kilter beat, while Tippett’s twin string orchestras echo and interweave in a floating, multilayered continuum.

The CBSO are joined by soloists Stephen Hough and Alisa Weilerstein in concertos of intimate, mysterious beauty – the questions posed by Beethoven’s remarkable slow movement lingering well beyond the duration of the piece and Thomas Larcher’s cello concerto moving effortlessly between lyrical, filmic atmosphere and dynamic modernism.


Photo by Upstream Photography