Home Productions CBSO & Trio Isimsiz

CBSO & Trio Isimsiz

Two towering but contrasting Russian works are juxtaposed – the first an intimate chamber work, the second one of the most popular orchestral works of the 20th century.

Sunday 18 June, 2pm

From £5.00 to £26.00

Part of the Aldeburgh Festival season

Programme to include:

Tchaikovsky Piano Trio in A minor 48’
Stravinsky Petrushka (1947) 34’


City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Trio Isimsiz
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conductor

Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio is a work of mourning on a symphonic scale, expressed in the musical language of 19th-century Romanticism at its grandiloquent peak. Stravinsky’s Petrushka explodes in bold primary colours, the darkness at its heart only gradually revealing itself. There’s a reason, after all, why Stravinsky considered Tchaikovsky ‘the most Russian of Russian composers’, and in emotional terms, Trio Isimsiz and Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla’s full orchestra might well find themselves equally matched.