I understand

Britten-Pears Young Artists Alumni II

Fri 22 Jun 11am

From £5.00 to £16.00

Britten Studio

Part of Aldeburgh Festival

Friday 22 June 2018 - 11.00am

While some concerts sell out quickly we almost always have tickets returned. You can sign up for notifications via WhatsApp to find out when sold out concerts become available. If you have tickets you’re not going to use, please let the box office know in good time so we have a good chance of re-selling them for you.


Jonathan Berman conductor
Instrumentalists from the Britten-Pears Young Artists Programme

Harrison Birtwistle Carmen Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum
Dallapiccola Piccola Musica Notturna
Patrick Friel A Line Alive (world premiere)
Joseph Howard Painkiller (world premiere)
Patrick John Jones Betelgeuse Astral Funicular (world premiere)
Hans Abrahamsen Winternacht
Berio Berceuse for György Kurtág
Joel Järventausta Tumma (world premiere)
Ryan Latimer Mills Mess
Lara Poe Mirror Rim (world premiere)
Angela Slater Soaring in Stasis (world premiere)

(ends approx. 1pm)

A celebration of Oliver Knussen and Colin Matthews’ flagship Contemporary Composition and Performance course at Snape Maltings is a fitting and potent blend of new music by emerging new generation of composers alongside works by musical figureheads.  Seven world premieres are prefaced by Harrison Birtwistle’s playful perpetual motion and enveloped in the velvety stillness and ghostly apparitions conjured by Abrahamsen and Dallapiccola in their night music.


Main Image Credit: Sam Murray-Sutton

Venue Address:

Britten Studio
Snape Maltings, Snape, Suffolk, IP17 1SP