BBC Concert Orchestra

Saturday 28 Oct 2017 7:30pm

Part of Autumn Concerts

Sunwook Kim piano
Andrew Gourlay conductor

Vaughan Williams Incidental Music to The Mayor of Casterbridge 7’
Britten Piano Concerto 33’

Britten Recitative and Aria for piano and orchestra 8’
Copland Quiet City 10’
Britten arr Paul Hindmarsh Suite from King Arthur 25’

Britten’s music for radio drama seeped into his concert works, nowhere more so than in the final version of the sparkling piano concerto, which draws on his music for the D.G. Bridson adaptation King Arthur. The full suite beautifully captures the pomp and pageantry of Arthurian legend and offers tantalising glimpses of his music yet to come. Two other high-profile composers from the early decades of radio complete the programme – Vaughan Williams’ majestic accompaniment to a Thomas Hardy serialisation and Copland’s poignant urban nocturne drawn from incidental music to a stage play.