Allan Clayton & James Baillieu

Fri 11 June, 3pm & 7pm

Part of Summer at Snape

One of opera’s most exciting singers, tenor Allan Clayton gives a recital featuring the world premiere of a new song cycle by Mark-Anthony Turnage, which sets texts by Rachael Hewer and Anna Ahkmatova as a way to reflect on the life of Alexander Litvinenko, the Russian dissident who was murdered in London in 2006.

Turnage writes: ‘Silenced is a cycle of three songs to words by Rachael Hewer and Anna Ahkmatova. It is a reflection on the life of Alexander Litvinenko; pausing to contemplate the deeply moving and impactful statement he released in the final days of his life. Litvinenko’s story induces a lasting legacy of a man whose honourable determination, commitment to justice and fearless self-sacrifice remains one of the most shocking and heartbreaking tales of modern history and the fight for what is right.’

The programme also features Schumann’s songs, which build on the extreme emotions of Heinrich Heine’s poetry, and three songs by Priaulx Rainier, who was championed by Peter Pears.

Allan Clayton tenor
James Baillieu piano

Rainier Three Greek Epigrams (7’)
Mark-Anthony Turnage Silenced (world premiere, 12’)
Schumann Liederkreis Op.24 (20’)

Concert length: approx. 45 minutes, with no interval


Tickets for these concerts will go on sale at 10am on Saturday 15 May.


Your safety and that of our artists and staff is our top priority and so some things will be different to what you’re used to. Key changes are:

  • Reduced capacity in the Concert Hall, with socially distant seating.
  • Shorter performances with no interval.
  • Audience members will need to wear face-coverings (unless they are exempt as per the Government’s guidelines).
  • No printed material – no tickets, programmes, or programme notes.
  • Clear signs and helpful staff to make your visit straightforward.
  • Regular and thorough cleaning, with hand sanitiser for you.

Read the full Covid-safe concert information