Home Productions Aldeburgh Festival Orchestra

Aldeburgh Festival Orchestra

A concert complementing visual artist Maggi Hambling’s Festival exhibition, with music by Debussy, Robert Saxton and Deborah Pritchard performed in front of projections of the artworks.

Tuesday 13 June, 3pm

From £6.00 to £20.00

Part of the Aldeburgh Festival season

Programme to include:

Debussy Danse sacrée et danse profane 10’
Robert Saxton The Resurrection of the Soldiers 12’
Deborah Pritchard Wall of Water 20’; Edge 20’ (world premiere)


Jonathan Berman conductor
Harriet MacKenzie violin
Catrin Finch harp
with Maggi Hambling artist

Pritchard’s two concertos are based on some of artist Maggi Hambling’s most recent canvases, matching their muscular dynamism and distinctive use of colour and texture in works of taut structure and opaque beauty.

Edge follows her new pieces on climate change and the melting of the polar ice cpas. The music is performed in front of projections of the original artworks, complemented by Robert Saxton’s Stanley Spencer-inspired elegy and Debussy’s dances. Interspersed with conversations with artist and composer, this complementary concert to Hambling’s Festival exhibition illuminates both the music and the art that inspired it.