I understand

Albion Quartet

Fri 30 Mar 2018 12pm

From £3.00 to £13.00

Part of Easter Weekend 2018

Friday 30 March 2018 - 12.00pm

Please note that due to a bug with our box office system, Spektrix, it is not possible to book for this event using a mobile phone. Please call the box office on 01728 687110 to make your booking.

Haydn String Quartet, Op.76 No.3, ‘Emperor’ 26’
Dvořák Quartet in E minor, B19 35’, Quartet in E, Op.80 27’

Haydn’s quartet has perhaps the best-known national anthem of all at its heart but is so much more than a famous tune – it’s an exhilarating tour-de-force that demolishes conventions and toys with the listener at every turn. Two of Dvořák’s surprisingly unheralded quartets revel in a similarly radical approach. The youthful E minor quartet is cast within an astonishingly inventive single- movement mould whilst his later work confounds our expectations with an atmosphere of aching nostalgia and undercurrents of Slavic melancholy that belies its major key.