All music events until the end of April are cancelled, and the shops and cafes are temporarily closed in response to the Coronavirus pandemic. The site at Snape Maltings is still open for those who want to enjoy the fresh air and expansive natural environment of the River Alde estuary. More info

Aldeburgh Festival

Friday 12 – Sunday 28 June 2020 See All Events

As you will have seen, we have taken the difficult decision to cancel all our music events until the end of April. Meanwhile we will keep decisions about the Aldeburgh Festival in June under review.

The 73rd Aldeburgh Festival features four Artists in Residence who have each curated parts of the festival – composers Mark-Anthony Turnage and Cassandra Miller, and singers Julia Bullock and Allan Clayton.

Other highlights include the opening night in Bury St Edmunds Abbey celebrating the 1,000th anniversary of one of medieval England’s great monasteries, the first performance of Britten’s War Requiem at Snape Maltings as part of Aldeburgh Festival and the world premiere of Violet, a new opera by composer Tom Coult and playwright Alice Birch.

We also follow the link from Benjamin Britten to the great poet TS Eliot, to whom we devote a day of events. John Tavener’s music is featured across four events, including the posthumous world premiere of one of his last pieces.

We have remarkable performances and talks from international artists and ensembles and, as always, you will find masterclasses, walks, talks, exhibitions, films, the programme at The Red House, and a hugely diverse range of activity taking place at The Pumphouse and on The Beach Stage in Aldeburgh.

 

Festival First-Timers

Never been before? Try the Aldeburgh Festival for £10.

As part of a commitment to making our work accessible to as many people as possible, we are encouraging those who have not been before to try something new by offering £10 tickets for first-time attenders at most festival events. More information >>

Free Festival Coaches

As part of our work to reduce the number of car journeys made to and from the festival, for 2020 coaches between Aldeburgh and Snape before and after performances will be free. You can also take the coach from Aldeburgh and Snape to events in Orford, Blythburgh, Bury St Edmunds and Ely for a small cost.

New Car Share Scheme

We have teamed up with Liftshare to create a digital platform to put willing car sharers in touch with each other. We hope you will make the most of the scheme, make friends and reduce our emissions impact. The platform will launch in the Spring – check back for more details.

Illustrations by Leonie Bos

Filter by type:

Classical Contemporary Exhibitions Jazz Music Open Sessions And Masterclasses Opera Walks and river trips

Friday 12 June

Saturday 13 June

Sunday 14 June

Monday 15 June

Tuesday 16 June

Wednesday 17 June

Thursday 18 June

Friday 19 June

Saturday 20 June

Sunday 21 June

Monday 22 June

Tuesday 23 June

Wednesday 24 June

Thursday 25 June

Friday 26 June

Saturday 27 June

Sunday 28 June