Snape Bridge on the B1069 will be closed from Monday 19 October for two weeks. We will remain open but please be aware that If you are travelling from the north side of the bridge, you will need to follow a diversion and allow an extra 20 minutes for your journey. If you are travelling on the B1069 from the south, your journey will be unaffected.

Play Video

What happens when we sing together?

Participants: Esther Jones, Seb Crutch

Series: Enquiries

Ideas explored: music for health and wellbeing

In April 2019 Esther Jones, Deputy Music Director of the National Youth Choir of Great Britain, Professor Seb Crutch and Elia Benhamou of UCL led a weekend residency at Snape investigating what happens when we sing together.

EEG technology (to record brain activity) and Empatica devices (which measure arousal levels using heart rates and skin conductivity) were used to gather data from a group of singers from the National Youth Choir of Great Britain, as they recorded original musical works commissioned by Creative Out of Mind, a previous Wellcome-funded project designed to increase understanding of dementias through science and the creative arts. You can here some of this music here.

Self-evaluations from the singers were compared to data gathered during their performances, and an initial analysis shows that there are statistically significant results. Further acoustic analysis will be made in order to compare significant moments with the Empatica, EEG data and the singers own verbal responses. The aim is to produce an academic paper summarising key findings from the experiments undertaken during the residency. It is hoped that this will form the basis of applications for funding for a wider study applying some of these techniques to clinical groups for comparison, e.g. singing groups for those with dementia, cancer, mental health issues etc.

Residency team:

  • Esther Jones (Project Director)
  • Seb Crutch & Elia Benhamou (researchers/EEG & Empatica equipment)
  • Jakes Slimings (audio for experiment/researcher)
  • Ben Parry (producer for audio recording)
  • Dave Rowells (engineer for audio recording)
  • Singers: Imogen Creedy, Ailsa Campbell, Emma Jones, Clare Sutherland, Michael Hillesdon, Scott Harvey, Sam Gilliatt, George Cook