Brass Elements

Richard Watkins (horn) • Jason Evans (trumpet) • Mark Templeton (trombone)

1 – 7 July 2018

Featuring side-by-side playing and 1:1 coaching with the course tutors, workshops on orchestral excerpts, audition preparation sessions and masterclasses on extended technique as well as a chance to explore music for brass ensemble in-depth. Alongside Strauss, Rautavaara and John Woolrich, repertoire included a work specially commissioned for this course by Gareth Moorcraft. 

Young Artists

Will Padfield
Arianne Rooney
Frances Leith
Joel Roberts
Renée Kennedy

Jacob Rosenberg
Tetsuya Lawson
Rebecca Toal
Emily Mitchell
Paul Mitchell
Kirsty Loosemore

Jamie Tweed
James Goodwin
Benny Vernon
Bass Trombone
Sam Taber
Chris Claxton


Richard Watkins is one of the most sought-after horn players of his generation and is well-known as a concerto soloist and chamber music player. He was Principal Horn of the Philharmonia Orchestra from 1985 until 1996, is currently a member of the Nash Ensemble, and was a founding member of London Winds and the Transatlantic Horn Quartet.

Jason Evans was appointed Principal Trumpet of the Philharmonia Orchestra in 2014, making him one of the youngest principal trumpets in the UK. His emerging career has led to him performing with the Hallé Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra and SuperBrass as well as playing Guest Principal Trumpet with the Gabrielli Consort, and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mark Templeton is Principal Trombone with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and a Professor at the Royal Academy of Music. He was a founder member of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Principal Trombone with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra prior to joining the LPO in 2006.